# Committee Spotlights



## Membership Committee

This administrative committee is charged with the review and approval of all membership applications (active, associate, corporate, student, and emeritus) and with the maintenance and extension of memberships.

Recently the committee, chaired by the vice-president of the Society each year, was reorganized with an executive chairman, T.H. Smouse, responsible for Emeritus, Honorary, and Retired Member activities and four subcommittees as follows:

- 1. Educational Staff and Students: P.A. Wells (Ch.), J.G. Endres, S.L. Melton, and R.A. Reck.
- 2. Corporate Membership: J.A. Fioriti (Ch.), S. Dominik, and S. Smith.
- 3. Individual Associates, A. Herrick (Ch.), R.H. Grinstein, and R.B. Muller.
- 4. Active Members: V.C. Witte (Ch.), H.P. Dupuy, T.A. Foglia, and A.E. Waltking.

Current projects include a survey to evaluate educational personnel interests and needs, development of leads to corporation decision-makers, approaches to individuals considering associate membership, and a new application form to provide more pertinent information from new active members.

Recent activities of note that have been very successful in membership promotion and involvement are the President's Club and Reception, the New Members' Breakfast, and the automatic payment of one year's dues for non-members attending National Meetings. The World Conference programs also have been very helpful in gaining new international members.

For the future the committee is looking to expanded growth of its membership. Also, a Five-Year Plan is being studied together with the ideas of expanding AOCS membership by involving people in disciplines that are now only marginally related to our principal interest areas.

Thomas H. Applewhite Vice-President and Chairman 1976-77

### Monograph Committee

The Monograph Committee has responsibility to initiate and maintain the program of quality monograph publication in areas of interest to the membership of the AOCS. During the Annual Meeting in New York, T.H. Smouse was named chairman to succeed E.G. Perkins. Other committee members are L.A. Witting, R. Wood, R.T. Holman, N. Sonntag, and W. Tallent.

"Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids," edited by Wolf-H. Kunau and Ralph T. Holman is now available from AOCS, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820 for \$15 a copy to members and students, \$25 to nonmembers.

The committee also has approved publication of two additional monographs:

- H.J. Dutton is compiling a monograph on the "trans acids," and
- Dr. E. Pryde has begun collecting chapters for a monograph on fatty acid chemistry.

The committee will continue to solicit potential monographs for committee consideration.

Services problems are becoming apparent. Assuming the

editorship is a considerable responsibility; the number of members who are willing to do this are difficult to find. The realization must come that the Society must institute some type of incentive system to induce competent editor/authors to produce monographs if the program is to remain viable.

Ed Perkins Monograph Committee

# Call for nominations

## Alton E. Bailey Award

The North Central Section of AOCS is requesting written nominations from Society members for the 1977-78 Alton E. Bailey Award. The purpose of the Bailey Award is to recognize research and/or service in the field of fats and oils. The nomination should contain at least five pertinent references or contributions in the field of oils, fats, waxes, etc. Some of the past Bailey Award winners are: V.C. Mehlenbacher (1959), R.H. Potts (1960), J.C. Cowan (1961), A.R. Baldwin (1963), T.P. Hilditch (1965), D. Swern (1966), W.O. Lundberg (1967), H.J. Dutton (1968), H.S. Olcott (1969), H.E. Carter (1970), J.F. Mead (1971), R.T. Holman (1972), C.M. Gooding (1973), S.S. Chang (1974), W.M. Cochran (1975), Raymond Reiser (1976), Leo Goldblatt (1977).

Please send nominations to the Alton E. Bailey Award Chairman, Robert L. Husch, Interstate Foods Corp. 3800 S. Morgan, Chicago, IL 60609. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 1977, and notification of the selection will appear in this *Journal*. The presentation of the Bailey Award is scheduled for February 1978.

# Deadline: December 15, 1977

• New Books (Continued from page 600A)

of the subject matter in the book is not directly applicable. However, the treatment of the data for the associating systems studied in the book can be applied to other types of ordering in solution.

JOHN F. CASELLA Ethicon, Inc. Somerville, NJ